Lafayette Square (Lafayette Park), President's Park North, Washington DC

Including the statues of Andrew Jackson, Marquis de Lafayette & Comte Jean de Rochambeau

A brief history;


  • Lafayette Square is a tranquil public, urban park located at the back (North) of the White House in President's Park.


  • Lafayette Square was originally called President's Park and was the private grounds of the then Executive Mansion (White House) but after President Thomas Jefferson had Pennsylvania Avenue cut through the park, separating it from the White House grounds in 1804,  it was officially renamed after Marquis de Lafayette, a hero of the American Revoltionary War.


  • The public square today houses five bronze statues including the centrally located equestrian statue of Andrew Jackson by Clark Mills which was dedicated in 1853, in the four corners of the square stands statuary of foreign American Revolutionary War heroes;


  • Major General Marquis de Lafayette, Major General Comte Jean de Rochambeau of France, Brigadier General Thaddeus Kosciuszko of Poland & Major General Friedrich Wilhem von Steuben of Prussia:

If you are interested in my photography and would like to see more of them at full-size and resolution please visit my photography porfolio at Fotolia by clicking on the link below;




Print Print | Sitemap
© Liberty Photo Art